This picturesque village on the shores of the Gulf of Corinth is not without its place in history. During antiquity the sea came much further in, as far as the village of Geliniatika and created a well-sheltered port. Local inhabitants still often stumble upon ancient tombs, ceramic vases and statues, which attest the area’s long history.
Byzance and the era of the Franks
During Byzantine and Frankish times Sykia was called “moorage of Saint Nicholas of Sykia” (St Nicolaw Au Figuiet), “Sykia” meaning fig tree in Greek, because of a big fig tree used as shelter by travelers.μετά δύο μόνον ιππέων και τεσσάρων ακολούθων, ίνα γευματίση αυτόθι εν ανέσει παρά τινι κρήνη”.
During the Ottoman occupation Sykia was renamed to “Pyrgos” (meaning tower in Greek), because of the Tower of Halil Aga which still stands today.
Very near this tower was the old fig tree and a fountain whose water arrived here via an aqueduc which brought water from the mountain. This water now runs into the sea. The fig tree stood until 1842. The name “Sykia” (fig tree) was later combined with the name “Pyrgos” (tower) creating the new name “Pyrgosykia“.
After the Greek war of independence the village was renamed “Sykia”.
The first inhabitants of modern Sykia
The first modern inhabitants of Sykia moved here in 1842. They belonged to rich and noble families of the mountain village of Sykia. They built beautiful homes and created a vibrant and very cultured society of poets, artists, politicians etc.
Today Sykia is a small village with 618 inhabitants whose main occupation is the cultivation of citrus trees and some olive trees. During the summer months it welcomes tourists and its wide diaspora.Google+